Geographic Scope

Species and subspecies are registered at least at the level of political countries. The Fauna Europaea geographical system follows basically the ISO 3166 and TDWG 2.0 country code with minor modifications. The covered area is the same as European mainland (Western Palearctic), plus the Macaronesian islands (excluding Cape Verde Islands), Cyprus, Franz Josef Land and Novaya Zemlya, the Western Kazakhstan excluded. The geographic boundaries include:

East: Ural (E 60°), West: Atlantic Ocean (Mid-Atlantic Ridge) (W 30°), South: Mediterranean (N 35°), North: Arctic Islands (N 82°)